December 24, 2016

Ravichandran Ashwin named ICC’s ‘Cricketer of the Year’

By ()
Ravichandran Ashwin had an amazing year on the pitch in 2016, he's been selected for Cricketer of the Year honors as a result.

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin was named the International Cricket Council’s Cricketer of the Year this week, topping off a sensational period in which he has dominated the Test bowling rankings.

The spin-bowling all-rounder, who emerged as India’s star during its 4-0 Test victory over England, was also named Test cricketer of the year for the voting period, which spanned the 12 months leading up to Sept. 20.

He becomes only the third Indian player to win the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, following in the footsteps of batting greats Sachin Tendulkar, who won the award in 2010 and Rahul Dravid, who garnered the honors in 2004. Dravid became the first Indian player to win both awards in the same year, Ashwin becomes the second.

“It feels great to follow the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being named as the ICC cricketer of the year,” Ashwin, 30, said in a statement. “To also win the ICC Test cricketer of the year makes it even better.”

“There are a lot of people to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special. What is very noticeable is the way I have bowled and batted and the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success.”

During the September-to-September voting period, Ashwin took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs in eight Test matches. That on top of the 27 Twenty20 international wickets he collected.

Quinton de Kock, South Africa’s wicketkeeper-batsman, was named one-day international cricketer of the year after he scored 793 runs in 16 50-over games.

Pakistan captain Misbah-Ul-Haq won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, becoming the first player of his country to win the award. Bangladesh pace sensation Mustafizur Rahman was given the Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Leave a Comment